US Flag Shawnee High School
Louisville, Kentucky
Shawnee 50 Club
US Flag

History of the Shawnee 50 Club

In the early part of 2010, Gene Mueller of the 1953 class conceived the idea of having a combined reunion of Shawnee High School classes that graduated in the 1950’s with the thought it could become an annual event. He assembled a committee of people from those classes.

It was decided to have a reunion luncheon at the Breckinridge Inn on June 26, 2010 from noon until 4:00pm. Each class representative was responsible for notifying the members of their own class, making the reservations, and collecting the money for the event.

The luncheon was held as planned, 151 people were in attendance, and every class was represented except for the 1950 class. A delicious meal was served and everyone had a good time. Some attendees even shared stories from the podium reminiscing about their experiences at Shawnee. Several articles of memorabilia were displayed on the walls and on tables.

At a later meeting held to critique the luncheon, the committee decided this would become an annual event. Planning began for the next one, which will be held on August 13, 2011. The committee also decided that future events would include all Shawnee High School classes that surpassed at least 50 years since their graduation, hence defining the name, Shawnee 50 Club.

This website has been established to keep us all informed. For more information, contact your class representative. If you do not know who that is, please email us at

Shawnee 50 Club Class Representatives

Jo-Ann Deuschle Eichert – 1951
Jim Knapp – 1952
Hilda-Gay Mayberry – 1952
Gene Mueller – 1953
Sue Miller Potoczak – 1953
Barbara Long Willoughby – 1953
David Weissrock – 1954
Paul Whiteley – 1955
Carol Skaggs Weissrock – 1956
Carol Cook Hutt – 1957
Gary Byrne – 1958
Joyce Stribling Forcht – 1958
Barbara Williams Oliver – 1958
Diana Reid Hepler – 1959
Roy Marvin Dick – 1960
John Moore – 1960
Jim Koshewa – 1961
Frances Petty Perdue – 1962
Paralee Horan Horrell – 1963